Home > Day by Day, 2014, Rockinpaddy > Day 5: Lets Play Darts!

Day 5: Lets Play Darts!

20140105-032423 pm.jpg

So, you get the picture, I’m playing between flickr private and public blog. Am I having a New Year crisis as I attempt to get on the right foot forward!

I looked back at last year and obviously the big days, events and thoughts were well documented. However the theory is that the journey is as important as the destination and tbh half the time with so much going on I forget the journey, so my purpose: I am looking at ways of giving myself an aid memoir so I can remember what I am doing (often these are important details) when I look back…and maybe create a narrative, a bonus if others find interesting, a bit more interesting than the kind of “I’m having a slice of toast today” narratives anyway.

Ark at me calling it a narrative! Is it a narrative that Im creating? Oh Danny Braverman/Jenny Sealey/Helen Bryer/Pete Lawson/Paul Sirret/Sophie Partridge/friends n followers your input here is very much needed!

Now the thing is the images i am putting up are all taken by me on the day and are more symbolic memory jogger of what I an doing, they don’t necessarily represent all that I am doing today, to only be doing darts today would make Johnny a dull boy! You get the idea?

I know this is my blog/exercise and ultimately I’ll do it if it feels right. I am just experimenting before a)i get to deep into the new routine and b) whilst I can change my methodology before forgetting too much.

So what do you think? Is this creating an interesting story of my journey through 2014…the worst thing possible would be my blog saying nothing and being boring? Possibly to early to tell? Should I keep it on flickr then publish at the end of the year….obviously what i put up here is not private and is the stuff in my life I’m happy to put up, private stays with the teapot and three minute brew.

So I’m gunna carry on up to day 7 and have another think. Is this new jazz exploration of daily thought through pictures interesting/worth doing?is this jazz exploration a good new direction for me spinal tap influenced blog…..comments over the next few days welcomed sausages?

  1. January 5, 2014 at 17:12

    ““I’m having a slice of toast today” best narrative there is! That & tea… 😉

    • January 7, 2014 at 00:09

      Yes but you make tea n toast interesting what I’m saying is i prob cant make those kinda boring posts that say nothing, like you don’t xx

  2. Sue
    January 5, 2014 at 17:28

    John, anything jazz is worth doing- especially if it is free jazz, just don’t get involved with something you can;t keep up and could take over – people are so much more important than blogs,FB or any other media ‘thing’ , then there is music and acting and…. and…… and – how can you keep it all up? What about a weekly or monthly blog or some such similarity? Once you are touring the idea of a daily blog might just be the last thing you want.need. Sx

    • January 7, 2014 at 00:07

      Hehe xx thanks. I like yer ideas. The thing is the best way to remember day to day journey to stuff. I was thinking post privately on flickr then on a monthly sit down n publish. 6 days in thus system seems to be easy n work. Just hope I’m not so cryptic that i forget what J actually meant/or wanted tj remember! Lol. See you soon xx

  3. January 7, 2014 at 09:04

    I used a picture of darts in a board to represent target or objective. Sometimes I have thrown arrows alone but its more of a social thing isn’t it? Competitive maybe. A fun thing. Something that happens with an ale in the hand. Access to leisure may be a pillar of independent living but a dead campaigner once said to me that there is a difference between leisure and social with leisure indicating am activity and social being just being with someone. Thing is its not just what you do its what it means

    • January 7, 2014 at 16:58

      I was pretty happy with the picture as I took it of the darts on telly and got that lovely movement in the picture.

      Agree on the leisure/social bit too although equally both important. Not sure a hard definition is as important as the option and choice to have a bit of one or the other or both! And on that saucy note!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

